DeWalt DWS780 Mitre saw dust extraction

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mjward

Established Member
Reaction score
It's pretty rubbish when all the parts are working and a month ago the rubber flap on the dust tube tore meaning it folds in on itself and does an even worse job of extracting (well in theory, was bad to begin with so hard to really tell the difference).

Anyway... Today I tried to go too quickly through an unsupported piece, the wood jammed in the blade and managed to smash off the "dust port" below. I'm no engineer but can't actually see what this device achieves. It's cheap to replace but I can't find any instructions or videos on how to actually replace it so I guess what I'm asking, does anyone know how effective it is at helping with the dust collection or can I just leave it off?

20230201_121906.jpg

I have a similar dewalt mitre saw with the dust extraction kit fitted - I might as well not bother with it as the collection tube that fits into the base has a small diameter aprox 12mm that constantly blocks even when connected to my vacuum. So much so I use it outside most of the time , if using inside I put a dust sheet at the rear of the saw and use a gulper ( I think that’s the name) to catch as much as possible. Depending on your situation you may want to replace it or use it without and see how much mess it makes .

Try this simple trick, just push the extractor hose into the pop up bin.
Total cost £2 to 4 quid.
1675289578309.png