Cutting veneers on a band saw.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elisha Nichols

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm a student completing her DT a-level and I'm doing my project on designing and making an object/item/tool that will assist in the easy making of veneers and boards on a band saw. I was wondering if you have any existing products that help assist in this area, or if you have any knowledge on ways and methods to complete this process easily, including the kerf in the measurements, meaning you don't have to re-measure every time.
Thank you for your time.

You could design some kind of sprung feed rollers to keep pressure on the board against the fence as it passes through. Could be powered or non-powered.

Would remove a hand from the operation that you would usually need to apply the side pressure. Most machines have cast iron tables so you could use strong magnets i.e a magnet base or two to keep in place.

Basically would be a posh version of a featherboard

Relative novice here, but I do use my b/s for cutting veneers (my b/s an entry level model). Didn't do much research, just tried until I got an acceptable result. The requirement is for use on antiques, so varying thicknesses are needed, consistency of thickness not always critical (as it can mimic "age" or being hand made), and for me, relatively small pieces required (say up to 12" x 2.5"). Timbers used have been pear and ebony. Some comments (based on my needs and limited experience):
1. Ebony trickier than pear. Ebony best air dried as kiln dried is brittle.
2. Air dried ebony can have twists, so one good "resting" surface is needed. Horizontal bows can be accommodated with a simple jig (so I'm not pressing the timber against the fence in those circumstances, but against the jig which is a simple convex curve placed at the cutting point).