Cutting comb joints

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Archimedes

Reaction score
All

I have a question regarding cutting comb joints/finger joints/box joints or whatever you want to call them :D .

I am new to this woodworking shenanigins and I am making a 8" x 6" x 4" wooden box in walnut. I have been using offcuts to complete comb joints (by hand) as practice pieces before going ahead with the box. I am producing 'sort of' neat jointing (but not great - Evel Knievel offered to jump one of the gaps - at least he didn't decline :mrgreen: ).

I am using a marking knife to mark the lines (not a pencil) and using a dovetail saw to cut the pins (6 mm wide) and a 6 mm wide bevel edge chisel coming in from either side to chop out waste. My chisels Narex, the dovetail saw is a Lie Nielsen straight handled Dovetail saw and I have a Mitutoyo square for making sure that everything is all squared up. I use Veritas wheel marker across the piece to ensure the base of my cut does not wander off.

My question is: I am producing 'alright' joints but not super neat. I can't blame the tools (damn... :roll: ) and I don't rush. Any gems of wisdom to make my joints better or is it, as I suspect, just lots of practice until I can judge the feel of the saw, how hard to tap the chisel etc...

All thoughts appreciated.

Kind regards to all,
A

You haven`t said what thickness your walnut is so without pictures i would suggest making the joints wider than the chisel to save any overcutting. Walnut can be difficult to chop if your tools aren`t sharp due to its relative softness. And like everything else practice practice practice and sometimes you will still get it not right. I think it was Alan Peters who said that even in the best workshops in the world mistakes still happen. Good luck. HTH
all the best
rob