contemporary amateur woodworking

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nabs

Established Member
Reaction score
contemporary woodworking

OP - I am trying to learn how to use my old stanley plane (inherited from my Dad) but I am having trouble getting my test piece of wood flat.

Bob - first things first, this is an old plane, have you checked the sole? The sole needs to be completely flat. An acceptable result can be achieved by an amateur but you will need a certified engineers reference plate made from marble (rrp $500)

Chuck - actually the first thing to do is to replace the cutter - modern cutters are thicker* and therefore better. I recommend PMV12 which has just come on the market, but you MUST get the cryogenically heated version (rrp $90 each)

* note may not fit in your old plane.

Alf - I am just a beginner but I 100% agree with Chris Scholtz on this one - when you factor in the cost of your time it is simply not worth the effort getting an old plane to work.

Bib - I 100% agree. I am just starting out and I have just ordered the entire set of bench planes from LM (rrp $4000) - you do not need to get everything at once, and I will be getting the full set of joinery planes as and when I need them.

Tom - I struggled like you for ages until I got the full set of LY bevel up planes - these are much more versatile than BD planes and leave a better fininsh, IMO (although I have not actually used them yet). The are also slightly cheaper than the LMs - $3500

Dick - you don't actually need a new plane at all as long as you are prepared to put in some fettling time and you know how to avoid the bad ones*. They are no longer cheap though! When I was a boy I could buy an entire set of second hand Record bench planes for £2 but now Paul Setller has jumped on the bandwaggon you can't get one for less than £14. Insane!