Confession is good for the soul - admit your mistakes!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alan2001

Established Member
Reaction score
I think it's pretty obvious to anyone reading any of my posts that I'm a beginner to woodworking, and I've made a lot of mistakes along the way. But I've never minded admitting to them and don't mind giving people a laugh at my expense.

So, in the spirit of sharing and learning and perhaps slightly taking the mickey, how about posting up some examples of those really *daft* mistakes you've made?

I'll start with my most recent. I was kinda pleased with myself for devising a so-called 'quick release' bolting system with wingnuts for my bench vice, so I could easily remove it when I needed the space. I only realised the flaw in that plan when I removed it for the first time yesterday.

img6597medium.jpg

dome-headed bolts that you can't turn with a screwdriver should probably never be a part of any 'quick release' thing, ever. now replaced with socket head cap screws. (hammer)

alan2001":3uly78c8 said:
dome-headed bolts that you can't turn with a screwdriver should probably never be a part of any 'quick release' thing..
If anything; the opposite. But you could bear it in mind as a "security" fitting, designed to hinder vice thieves!

happily cutting a piece of wood shorter when making a picture frame, without remembering that mitres are much longer (homer) (hammer)

adidat

I measured a set of joists once for a house, trouble was that my tape measure was a bit short but only by the length of the tape body so with that added on all was good - tea time.
Went back and cut the lot and yes without the body added on! He who never made a muck up never made muck all.
Merlin.

I once made a mistake ...... 1985 I think it was ...... pressed too hard with my pencil and broke the tip .... never forget it.