Car Boot find - can anyone date it for me please?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scottlefley

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Experts, having been inspired but he various threads on here talking about car-boot finds i decided to take a trek to my local car boot at the weekend and found this saw.
Managed to get it for the princely sum of £1.50 and was wondering if anyone could give me any extra info on it. I see it is a Tyzac sons and Turner Tenon saw but was curious as to roughly how old it might be.
Thanks for any help guys and keep up the good work :D

IMG_2287.jpg

IMG_2288.jpg

IMG_2284.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_2287.jpg
    IMG_2287.jpg
    238.8 KB · Views: 1,267
  • IMG_2288.jpg
    IMG_2288.jpg
    233.9 KB · Views: 1,267
  • IMG_2284.jpg
    IMG_2284.jpg
    245.3 KB · Views: 1,267
I'm no expert although I have several such saws.

The handle shape and the three attaching screws are your usual means of identifying ( no sheet Sherlock) and being a recognised name should be easy to identify with a little Google research.

The relatively ornate handle design was inclusive up until the late 1950's/60's when the handle shape became distinctively more bland due to mass production .

Sorry to be of no real help but I hope you have fun researching and restoring it and be sure to post any findings.

David

The Non Pareil "Elephant Brand" was used by Tyzack of London.

They were a tool distributor and would have arranged for their branding on these saws which were made elsewhere.

Pedder had a similar saw and thread HEREl

That may help you a bit!

Jimi

Can you post a picture of the other side the handle, showing the saw nuts?

I suspect they're the old "split nut" style, and I further suspect your saw is quite old, certainly (at least) pre WWII.

BugBear

Thanks for the help and thanks for the Link jimi43, very informative.