Can you adapt a fixed base dedicated AUK router to UJK Axminster router lift

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good evening All
I am a forum newbie & also a woodworking newbie. I have taken two intense woodwork courses to give me a start. I would be most grateful if anyone can help me with the following;

I would like to purchase a AUK fixed base dedicated router from the woodworkers workshop. It has excellent reviews but was manufactured to fit the U.S. made Incra & JessEm lifts. I have an Axminster UJK lift and it is not compatible without modification.

Looking through the excellent reviews I came across this one. . "Bought this AUK router to replace my Dewalt DW 625e router in my MJK Technology router lift from Axminster tools. I had to design and cut out new clamping rings to hold the new router, but it now fits perfectly".

So it can be done but I do not know how to do this. My woodworking skills are just starting but I have zero knowledge of metal fabrication. I have been told that it would involve some top down fixings in the collar that could then attatch to the JessEm Prestige adaptor plate. So almost an inverted version of a fixed base router.

Of course it would be a long shot if the gentleman who successfully managed to do it was a member of this group. I think that it would be okay to say that his initials are I.P. but due to data protection I don't think that I should say his name. So if anyone else has done this modification then please could you reach out to me. The AUK router seems to be a wonderful bit of kit and I would purchase it instantly if I knew how to do the modification.

Thanks, Laurence

I have to say that I am disappointed that I did not get a single reply to my first group post? I joined the forum by recommendation as I was told that the group had a wide knowledge base.