Bevel up ? Or Bevel down

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I’ve always struggled with this but these pics are from a book I use for reference - I’m no expert by any means and the book is American authors ..

Attachments

• IMG_1935.jpeg
    IMG_1935.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_1936.jpeg
    IMG_1936.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_1937.jpeg
    IMG_1937.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
One of the simple tricks that works 99% of the time is that, when the cutting iron/blade is properly in place, you can read the manufacturer's name at the top of the iron. This fails 1% of the time because (a) some cutting irons don't have a manufacturer's name, and (b) now and again, a manufacturer got excited and stamped the name on both faces of the iron, so the trick fails.

Try putting the cutting iron into your block plane with the bevel down - you'll quickly see that it won't work that day. Then try putting the cutting iron in the bench plane with the bevel up - you'll realize that the bevel presents to the wood at nearly a vertical angle and will scrape, not cut.

One of the simple tricks that works 99% of the time is that, when the cutting iron/blade is properly in place, you can read the manufacturer's name at the top of the iron. This fails 1% of the time because (a) some cutting irons don't have a manufacturer's name, and (b) now and again, a manufacturer got excited and stamped the name on both faces of the iron, so the trick fails.

Try putting the cutting iron into your block plane with the bevel down - you'll quickly see that it won't work that day. Then try putting the cutting iron in the bench plane with the bevel up - you'll realize that the bevel presents to the wood at nearly a vertical angle and will scrape, not cut.
Thank you for your help 😊😊

Cap iron has to go on the flat side of the blade.