Best tool for cutting down the grain for 2" thick hardwood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Watson1991

Reaction score
Hi

Hope your all ok?

I'm a tree surgeon based in Sheffield. I started milling up the trees id felled about 3 years ago. The planks are vary in size but have a rough thickness of 2"/2.5". All the timber is hardwood. oak, beech...

I've been looking a plunge saws to straighten the edges up but most of them only have a cutting depth of 55mm which would be on the limit really and I wouldn't want to put strain on the machine. Would you recommend using a plunge saw or a opt for a circular saw with a deeper cutting depth ? or even a different method completely. Ive got a budget of £400.

Any advice would be great

Thanks

Matt

For that budget, a bandsaw would be my choice, unless you want to take the machine to the wood and not the wood to the machine.

Welcome, by the way.

+1 on the welcome. Festool TS75 would do the job, but not within budget. Screwfix have an Erbauer that claims 67mm depth of cut that might just about do the job, assuming that cut-depth includes the guiderail...

HTH, Pete

Plunge saws are excellent for removing the waney edge from boards, you will need to put a ripping blade on though. The festool ts75 will cut 3", might be a bit out of your price range. You won't regret it though...

Edit: Pete beat me to it

Welcome, a practising tree surgeon is always a good addition to the forum.