Best buys for DIY

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndyT

Established Member
Reaction score
I've not been doing any woodwork recently, as I have been rather distracted by needing to redecorate our hall and stairs. Lots of preparation, lots of painting. A long job and Very Dull. :(

But before I started I splashed out £22.99 at Screwfix and bought one of these LED work lights

ae235

It's brilliant! Very bright, very portable, no excess heat like you'd get with a halogen lamp. It means I can go at my own slow pace, so it doesn't matter if I'm just getting into my stride as the daylight fails. It really is one of those things where I think "why did I ever try and decorate without one?" I expect it's old hat to those who have had similar things for years, but I had always muddled through by just putting a brighter bulb in and I didn't think that my occasional need justified a bulky and expensive site light.

So what else have you bought for DIY and wished you'd bought years ago? :idea:

Tool belt

Built our house some years back and only bought the belt near the end when doing electrics up a ladder. So useful and would have saved days maybe weeks of fetching pencils, nails hammers etc.

Andy,

Wish I'd got one of those! Instead I got the one with 2 x 1000W halogens and in the loft conversion we did last year it was boiling hot, esp after the celotex was up!

LED is the way to go.

Cheers

Andrew

I always thought a tool belt was a bit geeky
i do own one and have to say not used much
but priceless when up \ down ladder

Steve

I have a small rechargeable LED worklight and it's great. Just bought 2 LED spots for my garden too but not got them connected yet, so not sure about performance.