Best £1,000 bandsaw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Teapot

Reaction score
I'm looking for a good quality bandsaw for my workshop. I'm a hobby woodworker making mostly oak furniture and have not previously owned a bandsaw. My budget is £1,000.

I would be grateful for any advice on which one I should buy.

Startright: From what I've read, these are quality machines but my budget would only run to a secondhand 352 and would probably be three phase. My workshop is single phase and I am concerned (terrified) as to whether I could handle the wiring of a variable frequency drive.

Axminster: I've seen the Trade series SBW3501B which I think would serve my purpose but the motor is only 750 watt which may not be up to resawing oak. It also has cast alloy band wheels which I believe to be inferior to cast iron. The warranty is 3years. It seems expensive compared to the offerings of Record below.

Record Power: There are two machines here:-
The BS400 which seems to have everything I need. It seems to be very good value with a 5y warranty, 2hp motor, cast iron band wheels, and a generous max cutting height. Unfortunately, some members of this forum seem to have had quality issues with this machine which have highlighted what appears to be deficiencies in Record's customer service. It weighs a massive 140kg and I read somewhere that weight is a good indicator of rigidity. The Axminster weighs in at 84kg. Given the price of the new Sabre 400, is the BS400 a bargain?
The new Sabre 350. This does not have the capacity of the BS400 (the Sabre 400 is beyond my budget) but It's a new model and presumably has a number of advances over the latter. I'm finding it difficult to establish what these advances are, so any help on that point would be appreciated. It has weight (116kg), cast iron wheels, 1.5hp motor and the 5y warranty.