Bandsaw tuition

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapper

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’ve got Record BS300E bandsaw but I’m also a true novice so would appreciate some advice.
I’ve fitted Tuff Saws 1/4” blade but find it difficult to follow a curve which is not too sharp without twisting the blade. I’ve tensioned the blade as suggested so it shouldn’t be that so where am I going wrong?

Hi, I’ve got Record BS300E bandsaw but I’m also a true novice so would appreciate some advice.
I’ve fitted Tuff Saws 1/4” blade but find it difficult to follow a curve which is not too sharp without twisting the blade. I’ve tensioned the blade as suggested so it shouldn’t be that so where am I going wrong?
There are some useful videos from Axminster on YouTube - both setting up and using a bandsaw

Also look up Alex Snodgrass on YouTube he has some really cool and good vids - have always setup his way.

Padster

The Axminster ones mentioned by Robgul above are good, some are 'bite sized' - one for straight, another for curves etc. This is the direct link to the one for curves.

Forget the "Axminster-ness" - your RP machine will behave the same.

I struggled at first, the natural instinct if the cut begins to drift is to stop feeding and start twisting but you really need to keep the wood moving smoothly past the blade with a sort of pivoting motion. Plus of course having the column the right height - as close to the wood as you can while still able to see what you are doing.

I found some plywood scrap, maybe 200x300 (mm, not inches :)), drew a wavy line down one long edge, cut it, drew another, cut it, drew another with tighter curves, cut it ... and so on. After a bit it sort of comes naturally and you can transfer the technique to thicker stock and then to stuff that matters.