Bandsaw Speeds

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Barrett

Established Member
Reaction score
OK - sorry for the really dumb question but I've never used a bandsaw before.........

2 speeds. One for metal, one for wood. Right? OK now for the dumb question. Which is for which?
:oops:

Paul Barrett":12qfqhnn said:
OK - sorry for the really dumb question but I've never used a bandsaw before.........

2 speeds. One for metal, one for wood. Right? OK now for the dumb question. Which is for which?
:oops:

Slow for metal. and perhaps some really tough woods. (gives more torque at the blade but will be slower cutting )

In reality I doubt you will ever use the slow speed for wood.

See This Link

That's a great link- thanks

Ok so most of my cuts will be in hardwoods such as beech, black walnut and purple heart. Short cuts - maybe 6" max but sometomes deep cuts (up to 5" thick)

So speed is not of the essence for me, whilst accuracy and safety will be paramount. So I am thinking that I might stick with a slow speed?

Paul Barrett":1gsc4r5z said:
That's a great link- thanks

Ok so most of my cuts will be in hardwoods such as beech, black walnut and purple heart. Short cuts - maybe 6" max but sometomes deep cuts (up to 5" thick)

So speed is not of the essence for me, whilst accuracy and safety will be paramount. So I am thinking that I might stick with a slow speed?

I do not know which Bandsaw you have but I have today been happily cutting 8" deep Yew, Ash, Beech and regularly cut Oak Elm etc. up to this size with my saw set at High speed with no problems. (SIP 14")

Main requirement with those sort of thicknesses is to use a course skip Tooth Blade (4 tpi or less) from a quality supplier * so that there is effective clearance of the sawdust from the cut.