Are you a spindle moulder user?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How many people use spindle moulders?

• I use a spindle moulder - I am a full-time woodworker

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I do not use a spindle moulder - I am a full-time woodworker

• I use a spindle moulder - I am a hobby woodworker

• I do not use a spindle moulder - I am a hobby woodworker

• What's a spinde moulder?

• Total voters

Scrit

Established Member
Reaction score
As a point of interest, what percentage of you use a spindle moulder? Many folk on here have saw benches and planer/thicknessers and some even have bandsaws and/or lathes, but I rarely see people discussing the spindle. Vote today and make your voice heard......

If I'm working solid timber then I much prefer the spindle, gives a better finish, makes less noise than a router and I can extract the dust a lot more efficently than a router table. Just a shame TCT tooling is so pricy as the standard HSS ones don't like MDF too much :cry: As mine is part of a combi machine I can also make use of the sliding carrage.

Jason

I don't have one - Can't really afford the space and if I'm honest they scare the bejesus out of me. When I replace my TS and move to a bigger workshop then I might consider one as part of a combi.

Having built up quite a router cutter selection its also difficult to contemplate the duplication at this stage. That said, I have a lot of tapes and videos but it didn't stop me getting a CD/ DVD player!

Cheers

Tim

LIke Jason, mine is part of my Combi (Maxi). I dont use so much since I built my Norm Style Router table fitted with a Triton, although for long mouldings and heavy work, I still prefer it.
John

I have absolutley no experience of them but for some reason my impression of them is "SCARY!! :shock: "

Think I'll manage fine with the router table!