Anyone brought wood from ebay ? any good

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markymark12

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi to everyone my first posting, I am quite new to woodworking and am in the throws of getting my workshop together. As such i have been busy looking through ebay for bits of kit. Whilst looking through i came across a few sellers offering timber, there was some very nice english walnut on one.
Where i am based it is almost unheard of and apart from square edge oak, ash, and all the other commercial timbers there is no supply of nice timber.
I was tempted but thought i would ask everyone hear if they had any dealings with anyone on ebay and what they thought of it???

Cheers Mark :?:

I don't myself as i like to pick my timber by hand . If there where large timbers that i could machine to the sizes i wanted then maybe but my thinking is any timber on ebay is the left overs that no one wants .

Many thanks for your reply the pieces i saw he had listed were 6 foot long another set which looks very nice but with a lot of sap which he does point out is 4foot by 3 foot. Tempting??? He calls himself wadkin1
Anyone else have a comment

I think you would be wise to budget for a higher wastage rate than normal. Usual things apply, know the value of what you are buying and assess the possible saving against the risk of it not being as good as stated.

Having said that, I bought some elm and sycamore last year and was pleased. It it wasn't as well planed as the seller implied but I have a P/T so I wasn't that bothered. My seller was mainly a furniture maker who had cleared some park trees for a council.

What JFC says is true, if you need to cut large components then maybe not such a good idea but if not and you can avoid any flaws, why not?