Any music types on here?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Welcome (from a relative newbie too)!

I'm a guitarist and singer and occasionally still pick up my trumpet.
I also work in the music recording industry for an equipment manufacturer.

How about you?

Guitar-y type here too, made a couple, play them not too well. There are a few acoustic instrument builders on the forum, so if that is the way you would like to go, a fair bit of advice can be had.

Welcome, and enjoy!

Adam S

Acoustic instrument maker and regular guitar player in an eleven piece (when we all turn up) traditional Celtic (Irish/Welsh/Breton/a bit of Scottish) music band.

whiskywill":15qsdlbn said:
Acoustic instrument maker and regular guitar player in an eleven piece (when we all turn up) traditional Celtic (Irish/Welsh/Breton/a bit of Scottish) music band.

And which one are you, in the above gathering, may I ask?
rodders

5 string banjo, guitar - acoustic and classical. Born again - started 50 years ago without getting very far so now trying again before it's too late!
A lot of people are in the same boat it seems - owning instruments they can't really play.

Here's a simple test - can you, without rehearsal, sheet-music or any other aid, pick out a simple tune like "Happy Birthday"?
Many people can't, even though they have been their way through some quite complicated formal pieces.
I feel that if you can't do it then you have not really begun at all, and I'm making tune picking a priority.
Also a lot of sight reading - one target is to be able to play anything from O'Neill's 1001 on sight, up the fretboard too.
And scales, theory etc :roll:
So much to do, so little time!

Hi, welcome.
Active gig goer and listener. Everything from Cohen to Slipknot and Biffy to Plan B \:D/