Another bloke gets new T/S .....but

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cerbie

Established Member
Reaction score
Having read Tony's review of his new saw (and yes I AM jealous), I have been prompted into this.
Let me say from the outset - I'm new to this dark art of the wood, relatively, so ..........
My only previous experience with a table saw was a SIP 315mm contractors saw, and I burnt the motor out on that !! Soooo, I have now picked up a FOX F36-527 T/S at cost of 220 euros, about 152 sterling.

I bought this in preference to the Ryobi 1525 s/c, a look alike, as I had seen/felt a Ryobi 1526 in a store here and did not like it at all.

I actually wanted, and would have bought (I think) the SIP 254mm t/s, if I could have found one here at UK price, but as I said, I'm new to this, so perhaps a cheap piece of kit in the first instance is the way to go - practice an' all that.

First problem occurred as I put the tin foil legs together, 4 of the 32 bolts had knackered threads, not too serious, but this was the first part to be touched !! I detected a subtle dark cloud of impending doom wisping through my workshop. However, the rest of the assembly was OK.

Having put all together, plug it in and fire it up.
I pressed the button and saw the blade leap up, seemed like a foot or more, but that may be an exaggeration, frightened the daylights out of me.
No soft start then.
Oh, and a bit on the noisey side.

Having put a piece of scrap oak through, I found the guide appears to be parallel but after a little repetition the clamp let go letting the guide wander off. Hmmmm, maybe it was me, perhaps.
The magnifier on the guide doesn't, but it does obscure the scale and I find I am having to bob and weave all over the place to see it.