Advice on lacquer spray

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tim ber

Reaction score
Hi all, i am currently making a head board from offcuts( see below) and i will be filling the channels with white resin. I was thinki g of finishing with a lacquer spray but i have never used it before ( normally use a tung oil on my projects) any advice on brand of lacquer or alternative finish? Thanks all

Attachments

• 38CB5FBE-20CB-44D4-90F7-57AD3F901F92.jpeg
    38CB5FBE-20CB-44D4-90F7-57AD3F901F92.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
  • 7F1E8452-1932-4DED-AC54-D6339E7281A2.jpeg
    7F1E8452-1932-4DED-AC54-D6339E7281A2.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
Do you mean you'll be using a nitrocellulose lacquer, or something more complicated than that? Or waterbase type finishes?

Nitro lacquer itself is an evaporative finish like shellac (acetone instead of alcohol, I believe), it's pretty forgiving as long as you don't lay on too much at a time and induce cracking while curing. I've only sprayed guitars and a car with solvent, so I can't say too much about furniture, which I would assume will be a different formulation (plasticizers, that is, determining whether the finish is flexible and a little softer, or biased toward hardness with less flexibility).

Nitro lacquer here is cheap - very flammable, and indefinitely repairable. It's also used a lot less now compared to conversion varnishes and 2k finishes when it comes to furniture.

I've used the rattle cans from halfords before. Goes quite far, relatively inexpensive and leaves a good finish. You will want to find a way to seal the grain prior to applying any lacquer to wood. Rustins do a decent grain filler but I've also heard that shellac/french polish does a good job.