Absolute beginner questions

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Craigus

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have recenlty decided to start doing some woodworking again. I say again, I did it in school for my GCSE's 10 years ago, and have done some work with a friend who is a carpenter, so I'm not completely useless. Maybe. I'm an Architect so I'm not doing anything related to woodworking for work, but remember some of the stuff I made at school, and really want to have a go at it again. I love using timber in my projects at work, and think it would be a nice hobby to get into.

I've compiled some more woodworking/joinery specific tools to the general household items I already have, and have a small outbuilding/shed that is suitable for a workshop with a bench and power.

My main question which may sound quite stupid to you guys... Where do you get the timber for your projects? Do you go to the builders merchants, local timber yard, B&Q? I know it will depend on what you are making, my first small project is just a simple box with a lid, not very big at all, then looking to make a storage chest for the living room (If it doens't look rubbish). I don't think the DIY stores sell what I'm after...

Any other tips for a copmplete beginner?

Thanks

Hi Craigus,

welcome to the forum and pleased to hear you are getting started again.

You have an excellent timber yard at Yandle & So, Hurst Works, Martock, Somerset, TA12 6JU. They have en enormous suppy of lots of woods and are very helpful with anyone wanting help. Just give them a call and have a chat - 01935 822207.

They also sell lots of lovely equipment and have great shows there from time to time. Their web site will give you details. http://www.yandles.co.uk/

Hope you find what yo are looking for.

Al the best
Alex