A Lathe recommendation?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrewbullie

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

A some of you may have seen in a previous post, I am looking together a lathe, but as I am completely new to this I have little to go by other than recommendation and reviews, all of which seems to be mixed.

Well, I spoke with experienced wood turner tonight who happened to work in a well known power tool store. His advice was the following:

All lathes are simple and very similar.
The casts inside the headstock are usually the same regardless of the maker.
The main differences are the bearings and motor quality.
I should ensure that I get one with a cast base rather than pressed steel.
The sharpening of the tools is the most important part of wood turning and hardest!
He didn't recommend that Clarke but did recommend Record, specifically a CL3.

The record was the one which he said he personally used and found it to be head and shoulder above the others. I asked him about Charnwood and he said they are very average.

I then discovered that they also sell that same Record CL3, which made me wonder if he was trying to get the sale but I have to say, he was extremely helpful and didn't seem to be pushing a sale. He also steered me to some local clubs to have a chat with other wood turners.

Do any of you have experience or advice of this lathe or the same make? Also, do you agree with his advice?

Many thanks

Andrew

Hi,

I bought a CL3 from Record - before I could actually use it I had to have the motor changed 4 times.
1st motor blew all the electrics!! 2nd one sounded like a bag of spanners etc etc etc.