6010/11 welding electrodes, why not popular in europe?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DennisCA

Established Member
Reaction score
First off. I'm new to welding, a while ago I got a 2d hand Kemppi Super Kempak welder, 150 amp rectifier welder so I get DC.It's a good welder, my dad is a professional welder and used it without problems when he repaired some stainless pipes at home, but my skill level is so far very low, I have never really welded before.

There A LOT of different electrodes out there and learning what they all do and whats best for you seems at first like an overwhelming task but I've found two main electrodes that seems to be preferred and it's different based on location. If I ask on swedish forums the venerable 7018 is the togo electrode, also most common electrode you can get.

When I asked on a US forum I got the answer that 6010/11 are way better than 7018s for beginners and hobbyist, 7018s produce the best weld but are overkill a lot of the time, 6010/11s are much easier to use and more versatile. But over here in europe they seem impossible to even find, and people here don't really seem to know they exist.

One guy also really hated on 6013s and claimed they where the worst electrodes ever. But in europe they seem to be the only commonly available rutile electrodes, and over on the euro side I hear good things about them...

So I am wondering if the 6010/11 are that good, are we just missing out on something here? Would we also think the 6013s are junk if we got to try 6010s?

Anyone here got personal experience with these electrodes, know any reason why they are so hard to find here, yet common as dirt "over there"? Inquiring minds want to know...

I only use mig and wouldn't know the difference between whatever is put in my hand if I am pushed to use an arc, which is I presume what you're on about?