2nd hand Ryobi table saws - any experience/advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Melektro

Reaction score
Hi, I've been looking for a cheap 2nd hand table saw on the internets and have found 2 Ryobi's within travelling distance. I'm wondering if anyone could give me any advice as to their functionality and whether they would be a sensible buy in the long run. I know ryobi is not exactly high end machinery, but I'm just starting out and need something to work with. They are both being sold at around £80 - £100 (not sure if I'm allowed to post a link to the actual sellers).

The models I've seen are the Ryobi ETS-1525 (discontinued) and Ryobi ETS-1526. The ETS-1525 has a larger table size, less plastic and attachments for a router which I think is a bonus. How easy is it to cross cut without a sliding table? I presume a jig would be necessary to slide along the mitre slot or am I missing something?

Thanks, Al.

I started with a Roybi TS. There a good piece of kit for the money. I sold mine for £50.

The fence is pants but I used to just clamp some wood butted to it so it wouldn't deflect. I used the mitre fence a few times to cross cut but your better off with a chopsaw. A jig maybe better for the job but I never bothered as I had a chopsaw. I tripped the cut out a few times but I was ripping a piece taller then the blade.

Everything I cut on it was accurate enough but not always perfect to the eye. The dust extraction is pants if your even bothered about that. I wasn't until I had my own proper workshop.