1/2 lb cut of shellac as a clear coat, what is it in metric?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lucretia

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm about to prepare a piece of test pine for shellac/dye/shellac finish. I'm wanting a clear coat to go over the prepared wood before applying some dye and then attempting a French Polish (will be a first time for me).

This will serve as a test for a guitar I'm going to build. I'm looking to have the grain show up (if the pine is nice enough for that - the test piece is quite nice).

Now, I found this, but from what I know, I need a 1/2 lb cut, so should I be using 7.5 g of shellac flakes to my 100 g/125 ml of meths?

Also, am I ok to use a water based dye or should I dissolve the dye in alcohol? If I have to use alcohol, can I use meths for this or do I have to use a different solvent?

Thanks (I'm new to all of this),
Luke.

I don't know what all that "report to moderator" stuff is...but anyway, I've mixed up 100 ml of meths with 5ish g of shellac flakes to use as by base coat to stop the dye from blotching. We will see!

Luke.

Lucretia":slbt4c6e said:
I don't know what all that "report to moderator" stuff is...but anyway, I've mixed up 100 ml of meths with 5ish g of shellac flakes to use as by base coat to stop the dye from blotching. We will see!

Luke.

Mornin' Lucretia

The link you posted is in a spam trap. Once you have posted a few times it will stop.

Someone should be along soon to release it.

Cheers

Dave

Lucretia":2kl1dhz8 said:
...from what I know, I need a 1/2 lb cut, so should I be using 7.5 g of shellac flakes to my 100 g/125 ml of meths?

Also, am I ok to use a water based dye or should I dissolve the dye in alcohol? If I have to use alcohol, can I use meths for this or do I have to use a different solvent?

Thanks (I'm new to all of this),
Luke.