New Irwin Record Handplanes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The QS planes are nice, but you don't get a guaranteed
flatness tolerance which you do get when you but LV, Clifton or LN.

No real specifications for tolerances so it's a gamble for people
that do not have the skills to tune a plane.

LV,Clifton and LN are flat within 3 thou I believe.

For those that have precision tools and know how to tune
a plane, the QS can be made to work as good and even better
than a LN, Clifton out of the box with a couple of hours of tuning.

Ali

I have seen some of the newer record planes when apprentices have bought them at firms I have worked for and they are shocking alot worse than the stanley ones which are not too good either.

I had a 3, 4 1/2 and 5 1/2 when I was an apprentice in the 80's and have replaced them with older ones over the years and although I had a bit of fettling to do the difference between them was huge.

If you are buying a second hand one try to get one that was made before the 70's and you should have no probs providing you are prepared to tidy it up.

Tom

That's a 3 thou feeler unable to get even close to getting under my Quangsheng No 6 (I'd snapped the 1.5 but I doubt if that would have made it either.

046.jpg

I understand the logic of choosing a plane that one can use comfortably and with adequate control. I also understand that technically you could flatten any length of wood with a No. 1 plane, a straight edge and enough time and patience.