First project from learning lurker

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scottlefley

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been lurking around on this excellent website since last october, eager to get involved in the varied world of wood working. As an IT consultant i was looking for something that couldn't be further form my day job, so i have spent the last few months picking up tips on tools and techniques and getting my garage (workshop) up together.

Well now i feel its time to step out of the darkness and share with you all my first 'proper' project, a toy box for my 1 year old son.

So Here is my first (hopefully of many) WIP, although technically its finished now so not really a WIP!

Well the missus said she wanted a toy box for the boy and was all up for buying one, but no i said, i can make a box...what fool can't! so when i said that, she showed me the one she wanted making...well i thought i had bitten off more than i could chew when i agreed to it! Never one to back away from a challenge i made a start...bought a load of redwood pine from wickes, i know its awful wood, but all i could get my hands on at the time and was anxious not to spend a fortune on materials for what could amount to a disaster!

So started by gluing up my boards...
ToyChest05.jpg

They turned out pretty decent, although they were waving all over the place so much sanding and planing to get them reasonably flat...also means i can work on the missus to let me buy a P/T!
ToyChest07.jpg

Next printed out my boys name and stuck it to the front panel ready to be cut out...
ToyChest09.jpg

Cut out the letters with a combination of my trusted hegner and a jigsaw...
ToyChest11.jpg

Cut out handle holes and dowelled the edges of the boxes...this was my first mistake as its nigh on impossible to dowel a wavy board against another wavy board!
ToyChest13.jpg