Writer's Den - Shed Conversion

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gatehouse

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

First time posting here, though I've been lurking for the past few weeks trying to soak up some shed building tips!
I'm a writer/journalist from Cardiff, and I'm currently trying to build myself a nice little hideaway to escape my family...

Essentially, I've purchased a shed kit to build a 7' x 5' Shiplap Tongue & Groove Apex shed on our current driveway.
(Odd choice of location, but it's the most convenient space we have at the moment)

Anyway, I'm essentially aiming to convert the shed into as much of an office-space as I can.
This includes insulation, electrics - all the usual. But I wanted a bit of advice.

First of all - the driveway has a dip in the middle along the entire length with a small trench filled with crushed stone.
Obviously, this isn't an ideal flat surface. So I wanted to run my solution by you guys.

My idea is to build a large rectangular frame (2.8m x 2.2m) on top of the driveway to create my own level ground. This will be lined with weed control fabric and filled with gravel, leaving a gap at the top. The fabric is mostly just to keep the gravel in due to the dip in the middle. Once tamped down, I will lay patio slabs on top to essentially create a raised platform. The slabs will be laid with several centimetres inbetween for drainage.

On top of that assembly will be the shed - the original idea was to put 3 bearers down lengthways to create airflow underneath, but my first question - would this be necessary?

Here's a diagram to help illustrate what I mean:

Shed Design 1.jpg

(Obviously, not quite to scale... hah)