Workshop Must Have's...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Norfolk75

Established Member
Reaction score
Although I'm building a workshop it won't be work related more hobby focused but not looking for budget tools.

I'm just wondering where everyone else started with & what are the main items to have to call it a workshop so to speak.
Thanks.

SteveF":23qhcuac said:
what do you envisage making?

Steve

Nothing really in particular maybe odd bits of furniture like making solid beds & wardrobes etc, just something I've always wanted & ive got many projects I'd like to do with the garden too, decking jobs, etc.

I'm a dryliner by trade so my van is full of dry lining materials but don't think a taping knife, some channel off cuts etc will cut the mustard.

Cheers

Well I will tell you where I started some 45 odd years ago when I had my first house to renovate. I had a Stanley bridges drill with all the attachments and was satisfied with the results but it seems that these days the general consensus is that you will need the most expensive tools available in order to achieve good results.

Blimey there's some grumps in this forum isn't there! :)

It's a bit of a subjective question - perhaps it's better to pick a first project and then look at the tools you'd need / want in order to complete it, and then go from there?

pcb1962":2hwjppwi said:

Joking aside - that's about it. Almost everything else is optional, and down to personal preference.

If you're starting from scratch, then before you put ANYTHING in the workshop, paint the walls and ceiling white. It really helps to make the most of any natural or artificial light - of which there should preferably be plenty.