Working Contract

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stevebuk

Established Member
Reaction score
i have been working for this company for 8 years now and they have just decided to supply us with contract, mind we are up for sale..
One of the paragraphs says we are not allowed to contact the press or media, or get a job within 2 miles of this place, is this a usual requirement in contracts or are they paranoid, after all its a garden centre not the houses of parliment..

It isn't unheard of.

2 miles isn't too restrictive. Sometimes the non-compete clause can be any competitor for a period of time although I am led to believe that a very restrictive one is probably unenforceable.

How likely, if you leave, are you to seek work within 2 miles? (In the City, it would be more of an issue). Is it restricted to competitors only?

I wouldn't worry too much about those clauses personally. You probably don't have a great opportunity to negotiate the "standard" contract but it would cost a lot for them to enforce it. As long as you are not stealing IP I doubt that they would bother (I don't know what you do at the garden centre and whether this is relevant).

Steve, this link might be helpful. For starters, unless they gave you a written statement then they have broken the law.
http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/wales/wor ... oyment.htm