woodworm

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gordon T

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I have been moving round and reorganising my workshop/garage for the last two weeks. I thought that pulling a muscle in my back moving the fox lathe around AGAIN was bad but that was nothing compared to finding woodworm in a laburnum log that I had been storing for the last three years.
When I moved it I found the tell tale piles of sawdust on top a sycamore log, which was also riddled.

After setting fire to the laburnum and making a pile of affected timbers ready to take to the tip, I checked all my bits of wood and could not find any more holes.

Can anyone think of anything I have missed???? or anything to prevent a reoccurance?

GT

Too late Gordon, when you can see the holes the wee beasties have gone.

You often find worm damage on Laburnum, especially if one of the branches is diseased, but in my experience it is only the sap wood they attack, the heart wood is usually OK.

Sycamore, that's different the little b*****s will be all over it. Don't be too worried though you can still use the timber, and use woodwork killer.

For the future, as long as you bring tree wood into your workshop there is the possibility of bringing these things. There just ain't nowt you can do about it. IME

I understand that freezing the wood (if you can get permission to put it in the freezer :wink: ) will kill off any that remain in the wood

when turning there's nothing worse than the splash when you incise a tunnel complete with a grub... :shock:

If the wood is treated and the little darlings are dead and gone, the wood can sometimes make some fascinating turnings. The tunnels can be filled with brass or a contrasting sawdust to good effect.

Pete