Wooden vice screw: what to use to prevent it jamming?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChippyKlutz

Established Member
Reaction score
As a novice, my first project of course, had to be a bench and, rather ambitiously, I've chosen to attempt to make a wooden face vice. I purchased a proprietary screw and nut a month or so ago and finally got around to start the fitting today.

Unfortunately, after some time in my less than well insulated workshop, the screw and nut had become jammed together. I managed to separate them and the screw is now reposing in the kitchen, basking in the warmth of the Rayburn, since I can only assume that they have absorbed moisture and swollen whilst waiting to be used.

Trouble is of course, when I again bring the components to the workshop, it's likely to happen again. What's the standard wisdom for this situation? What can I coat the screw and nut with to prevent them swelling and jamming again?

The trouble is, you want to be able to use the screw in your workshop all year round. As far as I know, no applied finish will completely prevent the wood taking up moisture and expanding.

If I were you, I would leave screw and nut, separated, in the workshop for a couple of weeks, then remove enough wood to let them work together comfortably.

I had to do this with one of the matching screws on a Moxon type vice. I used a cheap coarse triangular needle file to work around one side of the external screw thread, following the helical surface all the way along. (Opening up the internal thread in the nut looks like less work but I could not see a way to do it. I've since found that it could be possible if you have a thread chaser of the matching size, but that's unlikely.)