Why won't you follow The Line?!?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

focusonwood

Established Member
Reaction score
Good morning everyone.

I'm new to scroll sawing, and this weekend I attempted creating one of those bowls where you cut a wavy circular pattern and then glue it all together.

I'm using a record power scroll saw, and was using a thin blade so that I could poke it through the holes.

My only problem is no matter how carefully I try to follow the line, the blade drifts off and ruins everything!

I suspect I just need to practice, but is there a trick to following the line?

Could it be the speed of the blade? I was cutting pine, so not a particularly tough material.

I'd really like to get better at this...the scroll saw wouldn't make a very good paper weight!

Thanks,

Graham.

i know nothing about scroll sawing, but my first questions would be:

how thick was the wood?
what size was the blade?

1) Check your blade tension is high enough, but not too high. It should make a nice high-ish ping.
2) If your machine is variable speed, try going slower until you're more confident/proficient.
3) Don't push the wood as hard, take your time.
4) Practice, practice & practice :D

I have found that when cutting Pine the blades do tend to wander if not correctly tensioned and also the grain in the pine likes to steer the blade unlike when you use a fine grained hardwood which usually follows the line ok.
Don't put too much pressure on the blade when cutting, let the blade do the cutting at its own pace instead of forcing it to cut quickly..... you soon work out just the right amount of pressure to use. For turns slow yourself and the saw down and using minimum pressure steer the blade.