Why is my table saw jamming

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evmundo

Reaction score
Hi all I am very new to table saws so this might be a simple one.
I have just purchased a Ryobi table saw and it is getting jammed about half way through a sheet of 10mm ply wood sheet. :( I had a good look at it and there is nothing obvious. I am only elavating the blade to the hight of the wood so I dont think its that.

Can you help?

Welcome to the forum.

You don't say what is jamming. The blade in the cut or the sheet against the fence?

I'm assuming being a new saw that the riving knife would be correctly fitted and just narrower than the kerf cut by the blade. But worth a check.

Also make absolutely sure that the fence is parallel to the blade.

I don't know how big the table is but if it is small relative to the size of the sheet you are cutting, you might need more support on the outfeed side.

Also it is possible that the cut is releasing stresses in the ply sheet and the cut is closing and trapping the blade. The riving knife should stop this but again check.

Finally have an assistant support the out feed and get them to open the cut a little.

Hope this helps

Bob

The odd thing is, i am not sure what is sticking. When I looked at it there was nothing obvious. I did suspect the riving blade. The saw is new and I could find no adjustment for the Riving blade but it looks a little off to one side. How might I correct this.

Hi,

Often riving blades are quite flimsy and can be bent into position but before doing that can you move it is the right direct by putting a paper shim behind the knife and its mounting block?

Bob

Can anyone suggest a good safety guide for table saw use?