what to use on this top

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paullap

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi , This is my first project, A wine rack painted to match my daughters kitchen, She loves it but the top is American white oak , and I varnished it. she said it is too shinny :cry:, any suggestions on what to do now, I was thinking of sanding it all off and oiling it, but if what with?.

Attachments

• finished wine rack.jpg
    finished wine rack.jpg
    64.2 KB · Views: 0
Sand it off, then use Osmo worktop oil - I would do two or three coats and give it a light 240grit sand in between…

Used that a year ago on our oak worktops in kitchen and utility and they still look great - easy to top up in the future if necessary

Scotchbrite and then wax will give a nice satin finish.Wire wool can be used if thats what you have.Use masking tape on any adjoining surfaces that you like the current look of.

Scotchbrite and then wax will give a nice satin finish.Wire wool can be used if thats what you have.Use masking tape on any adjoining surfaces that you like the current look of.
Not sure about using wire wool. I believe it may react with the tannic acid in the oak.

then use Osmo worktop oil

That seems to be the stock in trade answer these days for just about everything :LOL: But TBH it's getting a bit boring. Yeah hard wax oil is ok, but I'd personally look to something like a nice thick varnish.

Not sure about using wire wool. I believe it may react with the tannic acid in the oak.

Excellent. That will add a new dimension to it :D

You mean a varnish like the one coming off?! 😀

No, I think he said he was thinking of sanding it off, and you can simply dull down the finish from gloss to matt if gloss is too much.

Varnish is better for a knock resistant coating than osmo, which isnt a knock resistant anything.