what lathe should I go for

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boysie39

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, Total newbee here,I am a woodworking hobbiest for the past couple of years and the sawdust seems to have got into my veins.
i find that the old bones dont allow me to get up and down as they used to ,as I would like to stay working at wood ,I've thought I might try Turning so help needed from the start. I've been reading quit a bit and have sent for DVDs. What lathe should I go for, someone said as big as you can as you can do small stuff on a big one but not the other way around. For £500 what would you expect to get keep in mind im heading for 70 and would be useing for a few hours a day.
I hope to be set up for that money so any help you can give much appreciated. Sorry for long post .Regds boysie

Welcome Boysie39 to the slippery slope that is turning For £500 you could get a pretty good one second hand with maybe a few bits thrown in but you need a little idea of what your looking for. If you want new dont then around the £500 there isn't much there is a jump in prices between about £300 and £800 with I think only a few in between at £500 you have the Record CL3 and some Axminster Jet and Scheppach the latter just really6 the same lathe with a different name on it. Me I would go second hand but remember on top of the cost of the lathe there are chisels, chucks, pen mandrels, jacobs chucks, live centres and hollowing tools that you will want to buy you may not need them but you will still want them! :lol:

Good evening Boysie. How long is a piece of string?

You have a budget of £500 all included you say. That's £300 more than I had when I set up so you should be OK. :lol: