what is the best way to bend thin metal rod?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loose stools

Reaction score
I am Building a project that has moving parts I need to bend a thin piece of steel rod (4-5 mm in diameter). I need to make a number of small 90 degree angles to make a small crank shaft shape. I have very limited tools only having a vice and hammer at the moment. Is there any small jig or any heating techniques I could use? I have no experience in metal working so any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

One obvious tip - if you are bending wire cold, it's much easier if you keep the rod as long as possible and only cut it off when the shape is finished.

Thanks for the help guys. Would it be easier to heat the metal before bending and if so what is the easiest/cheapest way to go about this?

Don't forget than in folding that you need to shorten your material by its thickness twice on outside edges.

In my example (below) I have drawn a simple bend in 5mm rod. It is required to be 50mm on the outside edges and would therefore be cut at 90mm, to gain the 5mm each way from the thickness of the material itself.

Hope this helps :)

-Matt-

Attachments

• FoldDiagram.jpg
    FoldDiagram.jpg
    31 KB · Views: 1,391
-Matt-":e0z3eaqm said:
Don't forget than in folding that you need to shorten your material by its thickness twice on outside edges.

In my example (below) I have drawn a simple bend in 5mm rod. It is required to be 50mm on the outside edges and would therefore be cut at 90mm, to gain the 5mm each way from the thickness of the material itself.

Hope this helps :)

-Matt-

Thanks for the advice. I see what you mean and the diagram is great that for taking the time. How do you go about doing this?

Quite alright, I'm terrible at explaining things verbally and a forum makes it even trickier!