What hard/soft woods available?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mono

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a carpenter moved over from Australia with experience in building kitchens and general carpentry.

I'm kitting-out a workshop to move into more joinery work/ furniture design and discovered I have very little knowledge of available timbers other than panels and ply!

Can anyone point me toward a good reference regarding the types of timbers - specifically hardwoods - available; their characteristics; intended use; prices etc

For example: I have a commission for some driveway gates in hardwood (to be painted). And I'm struggling to know which stock to use!

Any help appreciated.

Mono

Welcome Mono. First Question: Why on earth did you come to the UK from OZ?? If my missus was up for it i'd be out there like a shot!

Have a look at SL Hardwoods' Website. They have a list of timbers used frequently over here and their uses.

I'd say Iroko is the timber you need for gates.

If it is to be painted then I'd go for the cheapest properly hard wood around which I think is ash. Poplar is cheaper but is pretty soft, ash is hard, available kiln dried in good long straight lengths.

Depending how close you are it may be an idea for you to get to know Paul Goulden up near Andover

Aidan

I agree with the comment on ash, which will take paint much better than oily iroko. The other alternative would be to make it from pressure-treated softwood, of course... :? You really need to machine everything first before you send it off to be treated. Even after it's been 'tanalised', you can experience some problems as this process seems to encourage the timber and joints to swell in places.

Steve Maskery":23hjjtsw said:
Hi Mono, Welcome

WiZeR":23hjjtsw said:
I'd say Iroko is the timber you need for gates.

Not easy to paint though.
Steve