What do you wear on your feet?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What do you usually wear on your feet in your workshop at home?

• safety shoes / boots / trainers

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • ordinary shoes / boots / trainers

• clogs

• flip flops / sandles / stiletoes or something else inapropriate

• none of the above

• Total voters

promhandicam

Established Member
Reaction score
All this talk of aprons / smocks / flat caps / plus fours / spats etc and no mention of footware! Having recently 'dropped' a rather solid lump of teak on my big toe I think that safety boots / shoes are in order. My last pair I left in Kinshasa and were my last pair that I had from when I was an apprentice (engineering) and we got a free pair once a year. Due to the heat I was only wearing sandles and the lump of teak made direct contact with the nail but I think on reflection having sweaty feet would be preferable to having to a broken toe.

So how many people do regularly wear safety footware at home. I would hope that everyone in the trade wears safety footware although perhaps it is best not to ask :roll:

Cheers, Steve

I've started wearing safety boots when working at home, after standing on a rusty nail that was poking out of a hardwood pallet i was trying to salvage.

Only problem now is that i drop stuff on top of my foot, just behind the toe caps. :x

Matt.

Having dropped a 2 x 1 metre ply panel on my sandled toe, it's now steel caps all the way for me.
Mike

I suppose it comes from working in engineering, but I always wear safety boots in the workshop. At work, we have safety drilled into us, as working with big lumpy things is dangerous.
If I'm wearing normal shoes in the workshop, I just don't feel right. I'd probably feel the same if I took the guard off the tablesaw.