Wardrobe with sliding doors

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oakfield

Established Member
Reaction score
I have a wardrobe with full height sliding doors to make.
I have never done one before - I have done plenty with hinged doors.

I normally make a carcase and the doors hang from that or a face frame, scribe sides and top with fillers and either fit skirting or recessed plinth to the bottom.

How should I go about building a wardrobe with sliding doors?
I will be building carcases, rather than shelving directly into the alcove.
Should the doors be hung completely independently from the carcases, with the top track fixed to the ceiling and the bottom one on the floor?
I was thinking of fixing a bit of 2x2 to the wall and packing it level for the door to close against and then fitting L shaped trim over this scribed to the wall.

Has anyone got some helpful hints for me?

Thanks,
Mark.

I have only fitted commercially available sliding door kits so the following is simply my thoughts on what I observed if I did it again:

1. The doors ideally should be hung from a top track. It they run in the bottom track they tend to jam due to build up of dust, fluff etc which will sit in the bottom track unless cleared regularly. My track runs on bottom rollers and is poor!

2. The top track needs to be fixed very securely to take the weight of the doors as any later sag will cause the doors to jam. Don't assume the ceiling is completely flat as any deviation can simply cause the track to deform slightly. This translates into a swinging motion not a simple up and down as the doors tend to have rollers at each end for stability - a 5mm undulation in the top track could lead to a "sway" of 20mm at the bottom (assuming 600mm wide by 2400mm high.