wandering around

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sunnybob

wysiwyg
Reaction score
Well. arrived back in the UK weds night, barely stopped raining since, not much changes does it?.
Thursday called into Axminster tools Basingstoke branch on my way to the west country to collect my pre ordered 63mm ducting bits.
Very nice shop, had quite a bit more than I was expecting. The manager (Simon) had my stuff all ready for me. Scores very highly for service and choice.

Today, went to Yandles in Martock in Somerset. Sprawling place in old buildings all over a historic wood yard. Very interesting. Triton tools had an open day and I studied their routing table quite hard, but its just too heavy to take back on the plane with me. So I bought a Kreg router insert plate and will definitely make my own.
They had a big stock, again more than I expected, as I haven't been to any wood equipment shops before, and came away with odds and ends, and I think I made a tactical error in taking the wife. She wandered around pretty bored till we got to the exotic wood section. Neither of us had seen Purpleheart wood before. I'm now taking a lump back on the plane to make her a purpleheart and walnut trinket box. I shall be asking the best finish for purpleheart in a few weeks time.

I was surprised how few people were there, we had the place virtually to ourselves despite the demo day.

Now looking for more tool shops in the south west to go visit (when it stops raining!) And we are going up to Nottingham for a weekend visiting relatives, so any good shops around there?

When I moved to Nottingham in 1979 there were four good tool shops. Mibro on Toll Hill, Pooles Tools, later Poolewood, at several different addresses (they must have spent a fortune on moving), one down by the railway station, I forget its name but it was great, and Black's on the High Street in Beeston.