Veneer vacuum bag glue?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
A quick question if I may?

I'm sure this is a very basic question to most here, but can I use standard PVA glue in a veneer vacuum bag & if not, what adhesive would should I be using?

I am a hobbyist & can't justify buying an electric press, so have recently bought a Roarocket system & am planning to experiment with it in the very near future, so thus, I am asking the question.

As always, many thanks in advance

Simon

... can I use standard PVA glue in a veneer vacuum bag & if not, what adhesive would should I be using?
Yes, although there are formulations such as Titebond Cold Press Veneer Glue that are designed for the purpose. Personally, I've not found any great advantage in using these more expensive veneer formulations over regular PVA, except perhaps somewhat extended open time. Slainte.

I’m pretty sure Bagpress do their own recipe - whether it’s anything much different from off the shelf PVA I don’t know. What I did find amazing when I saw it demonstrated is that he let the pressure off after only a couple of minutes and it was solid (bendy ply over wave like form).

I use either Titebond extend or aerolite one shot. Both work fine, Aerolite is better for long open time and more waterproof finish but needs a long vacuum time

I’m pretty sure Bagpress do their own recipe - whether it’s anything much different from off the shelf PVA I don’t know. What I did find amazing when I saw it demonstrated is that he let the pressure off after only a couple of minutes and it was solid (bendy ply over wave like form).
I wonder if that demonstration included the use of a heated press? Do you know?