Vacuum hold down?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alex

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm pretty new to cabinetery so what do you all think of vacuum hold downs? I've got a lot of niggles this seems to solve them, examples.
1. I've got a formica gloss kitchen top (recycle,recycle) as a work bench no bench dogs so either drill 19mm holes and Veritas puppy vs vacuum hold down.
2. Router and sanding again nothing to hold it to work bench.
3. Router templates, no more double sided tape.
4. Feather board clamping to my table saw/maxi26 so pressed thick steel top no mitre slot.
5. Maybe in the future a bit of veneering?

Now i've got a small 1 1/2hp 7cfm compressor and i've been researching vacuum venturi generators, anyone got any points on this angle? or maybe an old fridge compressor.
I've also found this http://www.toolpost.co.uk/pages/Woodwor ... lding.html
What do you think?

Any info or past experiences would be appreciated.
Alex

Hi Alex

How do you intend to "dam" the vacuum hold-down? I've used closed cell soft rubber gasketing in the past using 8mm diameter cord in a 6.3mm square groove and that worked fine, although your vacuum pods do need to be of an airtight material such as well sealed birch plywood or plastics - MDF or chipboard simply won't work. Double sided pods on a high gloss worktop are likely to slip if there is any contamination or the vacuum isn't high enough (a minimum of 15in Hg is required for safe commercial operation, 20in+ is better)

As for usefulness, I'm convinced. Vacuum is a great way to hold stuff which you are machining without pinning or marking delicate pieces (I used to run a big CNC router and pin routers) but it isn't really suitable for very small components where you have to adopt solutions like onion skinning