Using handsaws

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Colarris

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all.
I've been woodworking on and off for a couple of years now but there's one thing I still haven't mastered and that's sawing straight(!!!) Its really frustrating and I just cant seem to get it. Its especially shows when trying to cut tenons. Can anyone offer any magic tips that don't include power tools?

Hi,

Welcome

Get a good saw (not one with black teeth) and practise, you could also try japanese saws, they cut on the pull stroke and some people find them easier to use.

Pete

Ah, I wonder if that is part of the problem as I've always pulled the saw back against the wood(?)

If your used to pulling back against the wood, I'd recommend a Japanese dozuki (x-cut), these are very easy to use and get a straight cut. Matthew at Workshop heaven has an excellent one at a good price that I can recommend.

Racers":3dufes9w said:
Get a good saw (not one with black teeth)...
What's wrong with black teeth (on a handsaw)?
I've got a couple of the black Bahco I use for rough sizng and the one with the finer teeth leaves a reasonable finish.
Not up to Veritas standard though obviously.

Draw a square line on the measurment, then cut on the OUTSIDE of it. Keep the saw at 90 degrees to the job and hey presto; all you have to do is shoot.

It's in the way that you stand...nothing magic. Stand slightly sideways to the front of the bench so that your saw and arm form one vertical 'plane' and eyes should be over the top of the back. Use light strokes (let the saw do the work) and use all the blade. Simples - Rob

cambournepete":210dnwas said:
What's wrong with black teeth (on a handsaw)?
I've got a couple of the black Bahco I use for rough sizing and the one with the finer teeth leaves a reasonable finish.