Use of wooden moulding planes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Just4Fun

Established Member
Reaction score
I was given a couple of old wooden moulding planes recently and today I have been playing with them. I have never used tools like this before and I would like to confirm that I am going about it the right way.

The planes have a hollowed sole to produce a convex round work piece. One is marked as a number 8. I cannot find a size mark on the other but it produces a smaller round.

As a moulding plane has no fence, am I correct to assume I should first create a rebate on the work piece to run the plane against? Or how does one guide the plane to work in a straight line?

Any tips on using these planes would be gratefully received.

In case anyone is interested , both of the planes are stamped with the name L Hales which I think is a previous owner. The number 8 is marked W Greenslade Bristol, which I believe is the manufacturer. That plane also has 3 lines of text that is difficult to decipher but I think this reads
Exhibition (something unreadable)
London Dublin
Paris Melbourne
The other plane has no maker's identification that I can find. It looks like it could be from the same stable as the number 8 but it is not quite the same size so that may be misleading.

Yes, it's a good technique to first cut a rebate and use it to guide the plane.

It depends on what you are making, but it is also possible to "freehand". Start at the far end of the work, taking progressively longer strokes, so your deepening groove guides the plane. Use your left hand fingers to make a fence to control the position of the plane.

Greenslades were a very successful manufacturer.
The missing text is the word MEDALS.
The dates of the exhibitions were 1862, 1865, 1890 and 1880.

Excellent information as always Andy.