USB 2.0

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike.C

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been given a Packard Bell ixtreme 9200i pentium 111 pc, which has a 1ghz processor and 4 USB 1.0 slots (2 at the front and 2 rear). It also has a free pci slot (is that what you call it?) at the rear, 512gb ram, 3 firewire slots, 60GB hard drive and a dvd burner. It also has XP Pro.

It is about 5 years old but at the time it was apparently a good computer, and as I only have a 20GB laptop I wouldn't mind using this one too. The only problem is I want to put my old vhs tapes onto dvd but the Avermadia DVD EZmaker USB plus software I am going to use needs USB 2.0.
I am not that good with computers so I need a bit of help in choosing the right USB 2.0 upgrade to buy.
First of all am I right in saying that I need a USB 2.0 PCI card which plugs inside the pc? And if so do I put this in place of the rear USB 1.0 card, or in the spare PCI slot?
When the USB 2.00 card is fitted what do I do about the USB 1.0? Have I got to remove them both or can I just switch them off some how?

As I have said I am not that good with computers so the following may be the wrong thing.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PCI-8-PORTS-USB-2 ... dZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/5-Ports-USB-2-0-P ... dZViewItem

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?Mod ... 4&doy=13m3

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?Mod ... 4&doy=13m3

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?Mod ... 5&doy=13m3

As you can see there is a big difference between ebay and maplins prices, but is there a big difference in quality?

Is there different types of USB 2 cards?

Any advice would be great.

Cheers

Mike

Thank you in advance