Turn a simple knob

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dp341

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been lurking around here quite a while and finally decided it was time to post. I'm new to all this so probably won't be able to add much to the collective wisdom yet, but hope to benefit from the experience of others to learn.

I have a Jet JML-1014 Mini, with just the accessories it came with and a few basic tools. I've done a little spindle turning, simple things like tool handles but nothing much, yet. I need to turn a front knob for a plane I've been restoring, I made a new handle from Sycamore the other week and want a knob to match.

The thing is I don't really know where to start, I think I have the required tools (a parting tool and a spindle gouge) but how should I secure the work, do I need to buy something or is there a way to use what I have? I'm happy enough to buy a few bits and pieces, especially if they'll be generally useful as I develop in the future.

Another question that comes to mind is should I be drilling the center hole while it's on the lathe (I've seen that in a few youtube clips but drilled the holes in my tool handles after turning using a hand-drill)?

Anyhow, you all seem like a helpful bunch so I thought I'd seek an opinion or two.

Cheers

Others may come up with something different, but I find anything that needs a hole in it is best turned after the hole is drilled - the hole is always dead centre then.

If you bore the hole first, it matters little whether you do it on or off the lathe - do what's easiest.

Yep drill the hole first.
Welcome dp.

if you do not have a chuck (yet) you should be able to turn a knob between centres. Its a little trickier but still do-able.