• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Triton Router problem with Collet

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

ScouseKev

Established Member
Joined
29 Jun 2011
Messages
151
Reaction score
0
Location
South Liverpool
I have the larger of the 2 Triton routers and ive had a problem with a very tight collet.

With no bit inserted it screws in and out freely...problem is that i can't get it open up enough to accept the bit.

It can be pushed in with a fair bit of pressure but then its a pig to get out and i usually end up having to lever it out with an open ended spanner.

Any advise would be really appreciated.

cheers Kev
 

Mike.C

Established Member
Joined
14 Jun 2003
Messages
4,428
Reaction score
0
Location
Scotland Via London
Hi Kev, you really shouldn't be tightening the collet without a router bit installed because you can damage it. Also when installing the bit, push it in so that it bottoms out and then pull it out again so that the bit is about 3/4's of the way in and then tighten it.

If it is as bad as you say then you might be better off getting a new collect and starting afresh.

Cheers

Mike
 

brihol

Established Member
Joined
30 Dec 2008
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Location
Enfield
Are you sure you are not trying to force fit a 1/4" bit in a 6mm collet or a 1/2" into a 12mm? Triton do produce all 4 sizes

Brian
 

ScouseKev

Established Member
Joined
29 Jun 2011
Messages
151
Reaction score
0
Location
South Liverpool
Thanks for advise so far.

Its a 1/2" collet and a 1/2" bit.

Mike. I think i may have to get a new one.

thanks
 

powertools

Established Member
Joined
7 Jun 2011
Messages
1,808
Reaction score
161
Location
Bedfordshire
I had this exact problem with a Bosch router and it turned out that I had the collet the wrong way round in the nut.
 

devonwoody

Established Member
Joined
11 Apr 2004
Messages
13,475
Reaction score
14
Location
Paignton Devon
If its a new item return it, if it has seen some use I would ask what have I done to make this happen?

Bits for routers must be PERFECT.
 

Latest posts

Top