Total Beginner Desperate For Help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kierri

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I consider myself a total beginner in wood working, because I've never had the time to consistently practice and so I'm always starting a fresh. I finally have time now and am eager tk get startrd. I bought a router a few years ago, a Bosch POF1200AE and I wanted to buy a router table to put it in. I'm a total silly person beginner when it comes to routers. But after doing some research, I've learned that it's not the easiest router to mount on a table due to the plunge function and the only way would be to either buy a lift or take the springs out? Bearing in mind, I don't know how to do either and find it all hard to understand.

So my question would be... Would it just be easier for me to buy a new router that would fit in a table easily? I'm an academic and so practical things are new and confusing to me. If it is better to get a new router, I've heard people say to go for 1/2 inch collet. My budget isn't huge and so which routers and tables would you recommend? I don't think I'm up to making my own just yet.

Thanks in advance and sorry to be a nuisance...

Kierri x

Your not a nuisance in any way, everyone has to start somewhere and what better place then here.