The shame of a tidy workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sporky McGuffin

Light entertainer
Reaction score
I've noticed a fair few comments (including from the grumpy sod who is my step-father-in-law) that anyone with a clean and tidy workshop can't be making anything.

I find this an odd attitude; I'm just a hobbyist, not doing it for a living, so I don't have a lot of time to spend making stuff. I still (or perhaps because of that) sweep up after every messy operation, and I do my best to put tools back where they belong - on pegboards for the stuff I use most, in cabinet drawers for stuff I use less often, in their boxes for the bigger power tools. Consequently when I'm not actually doing something my workshop looks pretty tidy and organised - to me this is the easy way to do things, because if I've not been in there for a week or more I can actually find the stuff I need to get on with making the things I want to.

Today a load of organiser cases arrived because I was getting annoyed with all the little packets and boxes of screws and bolts and so on strewn across the racking units - they'll actually take up less space this way as well as being easier to find.

Am I the weird one? Surely a messy and disorganised workshop is less safe and productive than a clean and tidy workshop?

I've noticed a fair few comments (including from the grumpy sod who is my step-father-in-law) that anyone with a clean and tidy workshop can't be making anything.