The Great Carlsberg Workshop Construction Project

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carlsberg

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have just started on the construction of my new workshop/summerhouse/hideaway 8)

I have been inspired by our very own Mailee, who has had his workshop build published in one of the woodworking magazines.
Mailee has kindly sent me his plans in Sketchup format for me to copy(butcher?) his design.

I intend to post in pictures of the progress after every full day of work on the project. I have no previous experience of building structures of this type, but have been leeching all the advice I can get from Google :)

I will also explain what I intend to do as the project goes on ,so I can hopefully get advice from forum members if i am about to mess things up.

Total workshop dimensions are going to be 4m wide, 5.8m long, with a veranda on the front taking the overall length to 7.3m.

Ok here goes....

DAY 1
The day was spent marking out the area for the workshop, using the 3-4-5 triangle rules for ensuring the area was 'square'.
(Pictures a little blurred, not used the digital camera for a while :oops: )

I am in the process of digging 15 footings ( for the main building part only, not the veranda ), each one 450mmx450mm, approx a spade-and-a-half deep :D
I have driven wooden stakes at intervals throughout the area, all at the same level, the ground height varies about 6 inches over the area.

I have made 15 wooden squares which i am putting around each footing, hopefully all roughly level so i can fill with concrete and have a near level base.
On top of each concrete footing i am going to cement a concrete block into place, varying the thickness of the mortar to get all 15 footings exactly level.
4 footings fully dug out, plus marking out area and making 15 squares, enough for first day.