Table Saw Smoking

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spence

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm very new to woodworking so I apologise if this is a stupid question. I have a Titan Tablesaw http://www.screwfix.com/p/titan-ttb554tas-250mm-table-saw-230-240v/15766 and have used it a few months now. Last week I was ripping some pine (around 50mmx50mm) down to 25x50mm pieces and I was having real trouble getting it to cut. I was having to push quite hard with the pushstick to get it to feed through. I could hear the motor slowing down as I pushed and also that there was alot of smoke coming out of the side of the saw. I thought that it was coming from the wood I was cutting and that it was burning.
Is there something wrong with my tablesaw or is a case of it being cheap and getting what you pay for?

Perhaps you need a sharper blade, sounds very much like the blade is blunt.

Sharp blade should need no pressure to advance the wood,

The only other thing is if you are using a full length side fence, it may not be adjusted correctly and is pinching the wood tight against the side of the blade.

Okay that seems logical. I've had a little look at the sorts of replacement blades I can buy. I'm a little confused as to how many TPI I need for ripping woods. I can tell from my manual that I have a 48 TPI blade but I see options for a 24 TPI blade that I could use. Would fewer blades per inch give more ripping power at the expense of a clear cut like with hand saws?

Is there any scope for resharpening a blade myself. I certainly will give it a clear as it does look quite dirty from jointing pallet wood all summer!

You wrote"I thought that it was coming from the wood I was cutting and that it was burning."
Sounds like you thought the wood was burned but .... the smoke came from the motor?